Tim Cowbury & Mark Maughan: The Claim

Large Committee Room £12.50
Book Tue 7 November, 7.30 PM
Book Wed 8 November, 7.30 PM
Book Thu 9 November, 7.30 PM
Book Fri 10 November, 7.30 PM
Book Sat 11 November, 7.30 PM
Book Mon 13 November, 7.30 PM
Book Tue 14 November, 7.30 PM
Book Wed 15 November, 7.30 PM
Book Thu 16 November, 7.30 PM
Book Fri 17 November, 7.30 PM

A comically absurd and quietly shattering journey to the heart of our tolerant and fair society.

Serge stands before us. He has a performance to give.

But why is he here? What is he claiming has happened to him? And what has Willy Wonka got to do with it?

The Claim gently invites you into the most British of interviews, then morphs into a dizzying onslaught of bureaucracy and prejudice. A bold, imaginative response to the stories of those seeking refuge in the UK, this play asks what happens when your life is at stake and all you have to save it are your words.

‘Smart, sharp and forensically observed, identifying the price paid for hearing what we want to hear’ Michael Grandage Company.

'An accessible, hilarious and nuanced piece’ Professor Alison Phipps, UNESCO

Written by Tim Cowbury
Directed by Mark Maughan

Running time: TBC

Supported by Shoreditch Town Hall

Large Committee Room £12.50
Book Tue 7 November, 7.30 PM
Book Wed 8 November, 7.30 PM
Book Thu 9 November, 7.30 PM
Book Fri 10 November, 7.30 PM
Book Sat 11 November, 7.30 PM
Book Mon 13 November, 7.30 PM
Book Tue 14 November, 7.30 PM
Book Wed 15 November, 7.30 PM
Book Thu 16 November, 7.30 PM
Book Fri 17 November, 7.30 PM
View events listing