Shoreditch Town Hall presents

The Pitchfork Disney

Written by Philip Ridley and Directed by Jamie Lloyd
The Ditch £12 - £28
Fri 27 January, 7.30pm
Sat 28 January, 7.30pm
Mon 30 January, 7.30pm
Tue 31 January, 7.30pm
Wed 1 February, 7.30pm
Thu 2 February, 7.00pm
Fri 3 February, 7.30pm
Sat 4 February, 2.30pm
Sat 4 February, 7.30pm
Mon 6 February, 7.30pm
Tue 7 February, 7.30pm
Wed 8 February, 7.30pm
Thu 9 February, 2.30pm
Thu 9 February, 7.30pm
Fri 10 February, 7.30pm
Sat 11 February, 2.30pm
Sat 11 February, 7.30pm
Mon 13 February, 7.30pm
Tue 14 February, 7.30pm
Wed 15 February, 7.30pm
Thu 16 February, 7.30pm  British Sign Language
Fri 17 February, 7.30pm
Sat 18 February, 2.30pm
Sat 18 February, 7.30pm
Mon 20 February, 7.30pm
Tue 21 February, 7.30pm
Book Thu 23 February, 8.30pm
Book Fri 24 February, 8.30pm
Book Sat 25 February, 3.30pm
Book Sat 25 February, 8.00pm
Book Tue 28 February, 8.30pm
Book Wed 1 March, 6.30pm
Book Thu 2 March, 3.30pm
Book Thu 2 March, 8.00pm
Book Fri 3 March, 7.30pm
Book Sat 4 March, 1.00pm
Book Sat 4 March, 8.00pm
Book Mon 6 March, 8.30pm
Book Tue 7 March, 6.30pm
Book Wed 8 March, 7.30pm
Book Thu 9 March, 3.30pm
Book Thu 9 March, 8.00pm
Book Fri 10 March, 7.30pm
Book Sat 11 March, 1.00pm  Audio Described
Book Sat 11 March, 8.00pm
Book Mon 13 March, 6.30pm
Book Tue 14 March, 8.30pm
Book Wed 15 March, 7.30pm
Book Thu 16 March, 3.30pm
Book Thu 16 March, 8.00pm
Book Fri 17 March, 8.30pm
Book Sat 18 March, 1.00pm
Book Sat 18 March, 8.00pm

You know why the ghost train is so popular? Because there are no ghosts. Once you’ve learnt that you can make a fortune.

Presley and Haley have bolted their East London home against the terrors of the world. Since their parents died ten years ago, they have found comfort in chocolate, medication and fantasies of nuclear apocalypse. But, one night, Presley sees a beautiful stranger on the street outside. And while Haley sleeps, he lets their worst nightmare in.

Claustrophobic, comic and deeply unsettling, Philip Ridley’s seminal masterpiece played a revolutionary role in changing the face of British theatre when it premiered in 1991 to critical acclaim and controversy. Its exploration of ‘a climate of fear’, living in ‘alternate worlds’ and persistent thrum of sexual anxiety has continued to act as a tuning fork for the zeitgeist - a play whose relevance is forever in the now.

Step into Shoreditch Town Hall’s atmospheric basement spaces and experience this unique, immersive revival of Ridley’s debut play deep in the eerie underbelly of East London.

Starring:
George Blagden (TV credits include the leading role of King Louis XIV in Canal+ / BBC2’s Versailles and Athelstan in the History Channel’s hit Vikings)

Tom Rhys Harries (theatre credits include Hotel at the National Theatre and MOJO at the Harold Pinter)

Seun Shote (Salome, directed by Jamie Lloyd for Headlong and Play Mas at Orange Tree Theatre)

Hayley Squires (recently seen as Katie in Ken Loach’s Palme D’Or winning film I, Daniel Blake)

Directed by Jamie Lloyd; Designed by Soutra Gilmour; Lighting by Richard Howell; Sound by Ben & Max Ringham and George Dennis; Composition by Ben & Max Ringham; Casting by Charlotte Sutton

“an energy-rich and brilliantly atmospheric revival of a modern masterpiece"
★★★★★ Arts Desk

Ridley’s play…is brought exhilaratingly alive by Lloyd
★★★★
The Guardian

“Almost always sensational”
★★★★ WhatsOnStage

“Gripping, roller-coaster of a revival”
★★★★
The Stage

★★★★ Metro

 

 

Show Information

Previews: Friday 27 January - Wednesday 1 February 2017
Playing: Thursday 2 February - Saturday 18 March 2017

Tickets:
Previews: £18
Mon – Tue performances: £25
Wed – Thu performances: £26
Fri – Sat performances: £28
Under 25 tickets for Mon – Thu performances (not including previews or press night; limited availability per show): £12

The performance on Thursday 16 February will be BSL interpreted.

There is a Touch Tour at 11.30am on Saturday 11 March for visually impaired customers who have booked for the 1pm performance that day. It is free to attend but tickets must be booked in advance.

The 1pm performance on Saturday 11 March will be Audio Described.

On Friday 10 March, following the 7.30pm performance of The Pitchfork Disney, Philip Ridley will read Lovesongs for Extinct Creatures, his sequence of poems that chart the journey of a love affair; from wanting love through to the grief of losing that love. Free for those attending that evening’s performance of The Pitchfork Disney.

There is a post-show Q&A with George Blagden, Tom Rhys Harries, Hayley Squires and Seun Shote on Wednesday 15 March. Chaired by Jamie Lloyd.

All tickets subject to additional booking fees.

Ticket Deals: Purchase tickets to see both productions on any one Saturday during the run and get £5 off. (Total price reduced to £48 from £53; available on Sat 4 March, Sat 11 March and Sat 18 March; not available for previews; limited availability per show)

There are 10 under 25s tickets available per performance for Friday and Saturday shows. Use the promo code RIDLEYU25 when booking and save 50%

Customers purchasing under 25s tickets will be required to show proof of age before being admitted to the performance

Please note that non-conventional theatre seating will be used in this production. For any audience members with specific seating requirements, please contact us to discuss on 020 7739 6176 or at marketing@shoreditchtownhall.com before booking your ticket

Running time: 90 mins (no interval). No latecomers will be admitted after the performance has started.

Suitable for ages 14+ (contains scenes of a violent nature and use of strong language throughout).

   http://shoreditchtownhall.com/theatre-performance/whats-on/event/krindlekrax-rehearsed-reading

  

 The script for The Pitchfork Disney is available from Bloomsbury Books. Click here for more information.

  

The Ditch £12 - £28
Fri 27 January, 7.30pm
Sat 28 January, 7.30pm
Mon 30 January, 7.30pm
Tue 31 January, 7.30pm
Wed 1 February, 7.30pm
Thu 2 February, 7.00pm
Fri 3 February, 7.30pm
Sat 4 February, 2.30pm
Sat 4 February, 7.30pm
Mon 6 February, 7.30pm
Tue 7 February, 7.30pm
Wed 8 February, 7.30pm
Thu 9 February, 2.30pm
Thu 9 February, 7.30pm
Fri 10 February, 7.30pm
Sat 11 February, 2.30pm
Sat 11 February, 7.30pm
Mon 13 February, 7.30pm
Tue 14 February, 7.30pm
Wed 15 February, 7.30pm
Thu 16 February, 7.30pm
Fri 17 February, 7.30pm
Sat 18 February, 2.30pm
Sat 18 February, 7.30pm
Mon 20 February, 7.30pm
Tue 21 February, 7.30pm
Book Thu 23 February, 8.30pm
Book Fri 24 February, 8.30pm
Book Sat 25 February, 3.30pm
Book Sat 25 February, 8.00pm
Book Tue 28 February, 8.30pm
Book Wed 1 March, 6.30pm
Book Thu 2 March, 3.30pm
Book Thu 2 March, 8.00pm
Book Fri 3 March, 7.30pm
Book Sat 4 March, 1.00pm
Book Sat 4 March, 8.00pm
Book Mon 6 March, 8.30pm
Book Tue 7 March, 6.30pm
Book Wed 8 March, 7.30pm
Book Thu 9 March, 3.30pm
Book Thu 9 March, 8.00pm
Book Fri 10 March, 7.30pm
Book Sat 11 March, 1.00pm
Book Sat 11 March, 8.00pm
Book Mon 13 March, 6.30pm
Book Tue 14 March, 8.30pm
Book Wed 15 March, 7.30pm
Book Thu 16 March, 3.30pm
Book Thu 16 March, 8.00pm
Book Fri 17 March, 8.30pm
Book Sat 18 March, 1.00pm
Book Sat 18 March, 8.00pm
View events listing